A day in the life..., Arizona, Conversations

License to Braid

I tried my first hair salon today in Arizona.  After reading through reviews for weeks, I decided to go to David Frank in Scottsdale.  The hair appointment was great – both David and Frank were awesome.  I loved how laid back the salon was – then again, I’m in Arizona – everyone’s laid back – I’m still trying to understand that.  David did my highlights and Frank did the cut, but more about that later.

Every time I go to a salon, I’m the aunt that tells the stylist about her nephew who braids her hair.  What?  Your nephew doesn’t braid your hair???  Really?  That sucks for you!  I showed Frank the photo of the braid my nephew worked into my hair the last time I saw him and he was wowed.  Literally, he said “WOW!”  – he was impressed.  So here’s the pic:  IMG_2921

Frank suggested my nephew work in his salon because he needs someone to do braids.  I told him about how in NYC they have braidbars and he said they didn’t stick in AZ… and maybe it’s because a stylist needs a braid license to do braids.  So let me get this straight.  In Arizona, you need a license to put a beautiful braid in someone’s hair, but you don’t need a license to buy a gun.  Interesting.  Ya learn something new every day.

Here’s a loose braid done by my favorite braid stylist –IMG_2413!

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

